I once was lost……….

This mornings service at church was awesome.  My husband is the pastor, so I am a little partial to his sermons, but as always, it was great!

His scripture this morning was Ezekiel 34: 1-16.  I was inspired by the message and thought I would share it.

And the Word of the Lord came to me saying.  Son of man, prophesy against the shepherds of Israel.  You eat the fat, you clothe yourselves with wool, but you do not feed the sheep. (There seems to be a sheep theme lately.  Read God provides the grass we need.)

The diseased and weak you have not strengthened, the hurt and crippled you have not bandaged, those gone astray you have not brought back, the lost you have not sought to find, but with force and hardhearted harshness you have ruled them.  (This describes how many orphans and children on the streets are treated)  And they were scattered because there was no shepherd, and when they were scattered they became food for the wild beasts of the field.  My sheep wandered through all the mountains and upon every high hill.  My sheep were scattered upon all the face of the earth and no one searched or sought for them.

11  For thus says the Lord God.  Behold, I Myself, will search for My sheep and will seek them out.  As a shepherd seeks out his sheep in the day that he is among his flock that are scattered, so will I seek out My sheep and I will rescue them out of all the places where they have been scattered.  And I will bring them out from the peoples and gather them from the countries and will bring them to their own land and I will feed them…I will feed them with the good pasture and upon the high mountains…

16  I will seek that which was lost and bring back that which has strayed, and I will bandage the hurt and the crippled and will strengthen the weak and the sick……

 

I pray daily for the orphans and the children who are in some kind of bondage or who are living in the streets.  This scripture gives me so much hope.  I long to love and care for the orphans, but even more than I long to do so…..Jesus does.  God will heal them and will look for them and will rescue them!  God’s heart breaks for these, His children.

Today, Tony used this scripture to remind us that we are to care for all of the outcast among us.  If there is someone who is hurting, sick, lonely, hungry, etc, we are to reach out and care for them.  Every day, God puts someone in our path that He wants to love through us.  We are called to be the hands and feet of Jesus.  Not everyone is called to care for the orphans, but you can help support someone who is called to care for the orphans (God’s Heart: Adoption).  Not all of us are called to minister to the elderly, but we can pray for them, send a card, or support someone who cares for them.  Not everyone is called to be an evangelist, but we can love those around us, even if they are considered unlovely by the rest of the world.  As the body of Christ, we are to be taking care of each other, and especially the lost sheep.  God doesn’t give up on anyone!!!!

Leave a Reply

